Nursing and inter-professional clinical recognition

Reward and recognition is an essential part of our culture of clinical excellence at Salem Health. Nurses and other professionals are recognized for the high-quality care they provide to their patients and families through awards such as the DAISY Award, the Trillium Award for certified nursing assistants and the PHIL Award for respiratory therapists.



The DAISY Award

Anyone can nominate a nurse for the DAISY Award. The DAISY Award committee selects one nurse who exemplifies the following characteristics each month:

  • Established a special connection with a patient/family
  • Has significantly made a difference in the life of a patient
  • Shows empathy in all situations
  • Is an outstanding role model for the nursing profession
  • Generates enthusiasm and energy towards meeting the challenges of nursing
  • Consistently exhibits excellent interpersonal skills
  • Exemplifies the essence of professional nursing in all activities

All RNs employed through Salem Health are eligible for this award. Nomination forms are available from managers and supervisors on all the units as well as in lobbies.  

Please note that when you nominate an RN, you need to speak to each of the four areas being judged: Clinical Skills, Compassionate Care, Exemplary Service and Continued Commitment to Excellence. Feel free to use additional pages for comments.

Learn more about the national DAISY Award program.



Submit a nomination


The Trillium Award

All certified nursing assistants employed through Salem Health are eligible for the Trillium Award. Nomination forms are available from managers and supervisors, on all the units, as well as in various lobbies throughout the organization.

We have amazing, exceptional certified nursing assistants working at Salem Health. Think about nominating them for this seasonal award. Please note that when you nominate a CNA, you need to speak to each of the three areas being judged: Compassionate Care, Exemplary Service and Continued Commitment to Excellence. Tell us the story of your favorite certified nursing assistant who is worthy of this award.


Submit a nomination

Logo for the PHIL award for outstanding RTs


The PHIL Award

Salem Health presents the PHIL Award annually to recognize a deserving respiratory therapist based on professional excellence and compassion in the care and education of patients with pulmonary diseases.

The PHIL Award was created in 2006 in memory of Philip Lamka, who passed away due to complications from interstitial lung disease. His family wanted to establish a way of acknowledging the valuable role the respiratory therapists play in the lives of patients with life-threatening pulmonary illnesses.

Respiratory therapists can be nominated by patients, their families, visitors and other caregivers, including fellow employees.


  • Annual review of nomination during August Leadership Day, award to be presented during Respiratory Care Week during the third week in October.
  • Recipient will receive an appreciation sculpture and a certificate.
  • They will also have their registration paid to the local state respiratory care conference.
  • Nominations received from patients, family, and caregivers (besides employees) should be reviewed with higher consideration (FACES Foundation Standard).
  • Employees must not have received a written corrective action within in last year (verification made by manager before submitted to the selection committee).
  • All respiratory therapists involved in patient care are eligible for nomination.
  • Award not to be granted to same recipient in two consecutive years.
  • Nomination deadline will be August 15, and the nomination will be presented to the Professional Growth and Development Committee during the August Professional Governance Day. This will allow an impartial selection of the most deserving nominee.


Submit a nomination



Our Service Excellence department also hosts annual service excellence awards where many nurses are recognized for their commitment to the pillars of exceptional service, including attitude, communication, diversity, etiquette and teamwork. 



As a Lean organization, we annually recognize exemplary Lean work with the Lean Award. Nurses and their interprofessional partners are regularly key stakeholders in this award.

Nurses are also routinely recognized for their contributions to advancing strategic initiatives and priorities across the organization. An example is our ‘SHINEing Star’ Awards for small wins that individual nurses or teams have made related to our strategic elements of quality/safety/patient experience, people and culture, medical/clinical staff collaboration and/or financial performance.

On Professional Governance Day we regularly recognize nurses and interprofessionals with publication and presentation awards. We also provide our council chairs with service awards for a minimum of two years of council service.

We proudly recognize the contributions of professional nursing in our organization in our Nursing and Clinical Excellence Annual Reports.