ATTENTION: If you think you are experiencing COVID-19 symptoms, call our COVID-19 triage line at 503-814-0099 before entering a Salem Health Hospitals and Clinics facility. This includes staff. Anyone at a Salem Health facility (inside or outside) must wear a facial mask at all times.
Learn more

Salem Hospital Foundation Reaches $2 Million In Scholarship Awards

Jul 01, 2013

The Salem Hospital Foundation announces that 101 students in medical or medically related fields will receive a scholarship for the 2013-2014 school year.

A total of $166,000 in scholarships was awarded to students pursuing degrees in a variety of medical programs.

The Foundation’s scholarship program began in 1968. The first grant was $500 awarded to a Salem Hospital employee enrolled in the Associate Degree of Nursing Program at Salem Vocational Tech., now known as Chemeketa Community College.  Since that time the Foundation has awarded over $2 million in tuition assistance.

Several named scholarships were awarded in memory of various community members, including the John Alsever physician scholarship, the Cass Bailey physician scholarship, the Hattie Kremen nursing scholarship, the Elaine Marckx nursing scholarship, the Elmera “Tiny” Richardson nursing scholarship, the Sewell Family scholarship and the Grayce & Glola Sigg nursing scholarship. In addition, the Salem Self-Help Nursing Scholarship was awarded through the Salem Foundation.

Recipients for the 2013-2014 school year are:

Albany: Joel Helms and Eryn Stubblefield

Amity: Julie Altree

Brooks: Beth Manley

Dallas: Kenneth Irwin, Valerie Jaeger, Serena Lairson, Eric Pfau, Deborah Schmidt, and Miki Todosov

Dayton: Max Walker

Dundee: James Rollandi

Independence: Kristen Buchanan, Kirsten Fertig and Lisa Wood

Jefferson: Jason Alford and Rachel Hickman

Keizer: Jesse Allen, Angie Delacruz, Johanna Kemry, Tasha Kiger, Sharon Marsoun, Lillian Schott and Rogene Talento

Lebanon: Rachael Beyer

Lyons: Kelly Owen

McMinnville: Emily Paysinger

Monmouth: Tori Child, Jordan Frerichs, Mary Pflaum and April Stedronsky Soward

Mt Angel: Dustin Beyer

Portland: Bruce Rodgers and Nicole Webber

Salem: Ellie Barnhart, Brittney Borsberry, Leslie Broyles, Douglas Casteel, Iuri Cernev, Jasmin Cheyne, Marci Cogdill, Jill Cohen, Kristen Connolly, Anne Crump, Courtney Dawes, Katelyn De Laughter, Jon Deming, Kaylinn Dokken, Krissa Dorfner, Leann Drake, Mary Gregory, Kathleen Hainsworth, Stephanie Hamel, Carol Hannibal, Elizabeth Harrah, Valorie Hergenreter, Juline Hoffman, Andrea Hughes, Erin Jones, Lisa Ketchum, Nicole Kuenzi, Hannah Kuizenga, William Larson, Joeleen Leverman, Anna Lierman, Gail Maggiora, Leah Miller, Geoffrey Mwangi, Heather Nelson, Brianna Neufeldt, Stephen Nielsen,Michael Polacek, Karina Porter, Christine Powell, Berenice Rhoads-Ortiz, Karina Rivera Vargas, Timothy Rock, Bethany Sappington, David Schultze, Nicholas Sedor, Lori Swain, Sarah Tomscha, Kayla Tooze, Victor Toran, Bryauna Ward, Kelsey Waybrant and Annette Whitney

Scio: Casey Lulay

Sheridan: David Flinn

Silverton: Samuel Helman, Monica Henderson, Nduta Nyoro-Cayton and Laura Selby

Stayton: Marci Jordan

Sublimity: Emilie Fields, Kelly Honyak, Georgianne Mayer and Katie Seifer

Turner: McKenzie Beeson and Cody Rekow

Woodburn: Bridgette Knowlson


Salem Health. All rights reserved. No part of this Web site may be reproduced in any form except by written permission. All trademarks mentioned herein are property of their respective owners.